Lucky Charms

Ask a backpacker how much their pack weighs (loaded) and they can tell you off the top of their head–some even down to the ounces.

I’m not an ounce counter per se, but one starts to see how it all adds up, and judge whether heavier things like deodorant are a true necessity.

One thing I refuse to weigh are the tiny talismans on my pack: a bracelet from my friend Ana (via her wonderful parents!), my daughter’s adventurous friend Foxy and a Theodore Roosevelt bookmark.

None weighs particularly much (ok, Foxy may weigh more than deodorant), but they are equally meaningful for me to bring for various reasons.

The bracelet is from the Camino de Santiago in Spain. One goal was to compete the Camino with Ana in 2015, but life grew hectic. The Camino is about the journey as much, if not more, than the destination. Not being able to achieve that particular goal this year after so much research and planning was disheartening. However, after reflecting I realized everyone has their OWN Way, not just THAT Way; we all have our own journey, whether it’s on a trail or not. My time will come in Spain, but it’s not now and I’m totally at peace with that. This bracelet has been on every backpack of every trip I’ve taken, and reminds me to enjoy the journey.

Leaving home to hike is hard on the little people under your roof, and my youngest is no exception. While in D.C. I procured this red fox from one of the Museum of Natural History for her. Before I travel, she gives it extra hugs to keep me company, and I then write adventures from Foxy’s perspective and take staged photos. She’s as happy to see Foxy as she is me!

img_20150831_193258.jpg
Foxy at Whitaker’s Bunkhouse outside Mt. Rainier National Park.

My TR bookmark came after a LOT of searching. (Do you know how hard it is to find a figurine of this guy? Seriously, Google it.) I’m not one for flashing politics around, but Theodore Roosevelt is my favorite President. Aside from general bad-assery, his work with conservationists to establish a national park system is invaluable. However, I love so much more about him: his toothy grin, spellbinding oration, love of science and research and of course, his tenacity. Who would have thought a child sickly as he was would accomplish and experience all that he did? So yeah, even though he hated being called Teddy, “Teddy” goes with me every time as well. There’s no such thing as giving up just an alternation of plans.

What are your “lucky charms”? A special keychain? St. Christopher’s medal on the car visor? Small piece of jewelry that holds far more sentimental value than price? More importantly–what do they mean to you?

20160102_200821.jpg
Not a lucky charm, but a Snickers ‘for the road’ is worthwhile as well! 

2 thoughts on “Lucky Charms

  1. I have ‘Moosey’.. When we were in AK, all I wanted, was to see a moose… In a state where there are more moosr than people, it never happened. Now Moosey comes everywhere with me when I travel, and gets his picture taken.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment